Next week I’ll be attending New Media Days and the program looks promising. I’ll be blogging from the conference to let you in on some of the hopefully new and inspirational stuff. Last year Obama’s campaign was one of the great topics using social media as a crucial platform. But one of the presentations that  made the biggest impact on me was Jonathan Harris working on projects in the intersection of art, technolgy and social media.

One of these projects is We Feel Fine (wefeelfine.org)  Harvesting human feelings from a large number of weblogs We Feel Fine gives you updates on human emotion on a global scale. The system searches the world’s newly posted blog entries for occurrences of the phrases “I feel” and “I am feeling”. When it finds such a phrase, it records the full sentence and identifies the “feeling” expressed in that sentence (e.g. sad, happy, depressed, etc.).

Take a look for yourself: wefeelfine.org – there is something truly poetic about it.

/ iben