Just had my first 3D experience at the movies. Went to see Alice in Wonderland yesterday. I’ve loved Tim Burton since Beetlejuice, so my expectations were high, both for the movie and the 3D. Watching the pre-movie trailers (of How to train you Dragon, and especially Toy story 3) really got my expectations up. I was a bit disappointed with Alice in Wonderland though. Both the movie and the 3D effects – while some of it is absolutely gorgeous, some of it looks flat and blurry, and the subtitle track just looks weird floating in mid air.

So the verdict. Not Tim Burton’s best movie. 3D is definately not perfected yet, but it certainly has its moments. I think my favorite part of the movie was at the very end, where the transformed Absolom (once a caterpillar, now a butterfly) flew out from the screen and was hovering right over the person sitting in the row in front of me.  And the old red&green paper glasses were so much cooler than the new ones.

/Baek

